A Begging

Standard

Minutes ago, I finished this book. I realize I am about five years late to this party, but it is still raging hard.

Friends, foes, strangers, humans: It undid me. It is heartbreaking and ruthless and agonizing and gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous. It is a masterpiece. I immediately drove to my local book store and bought them out of every copy so I could send it to as many friends as possible.

When I consider how much I envy Nate Wilson for writing such a thing, I become so overcome with jealousy that my mouth hangs open, as my brain is too busy to tell it to close.

I am not going to waste any more time with this worthless chatter. I am telling you to go. Run. Get to your nearest local bookstore. (And yes, make it local. Don’t be lame. Those who work in local bookstores are the salt of the earth. If you live near me, I can recommend a really good one.) If they’re closed, wait. Camp out. Be their first customer. Say good morning, because nothing trumps good manners, and then tell them you have come for Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl: Wide-Eyed Wonder in God’s Spoken World by Nate Wilson. Try to be patient; they probably keep it in a shrine somewhere. As the employee walks away, ask everyone in the store to raise their hands if they haven’t read this book. Count the hands. Buy that number of copies plus one. Treat these people to one of the finest literary experiences they’ll ever have.

I am on a rampage. I would threaten not to speak to you again until you’ve read it if I thought you valued my friendship highly enough to listen. So instead of threatening, I beg. Read it. It is going to ravage your soul so magnificently, so carefully, so beautifully.

Listen to Nate:

Do not resent your place in the story. Do not imagine yourself elsewhere. Do not close your eyes and picture a world without thorns, without shadows, without hawks. Change this world. Use your body like a tool meant to be used up, discarded, and replaced. Better every life you touch. We will reach the final chapter. When we have eyes that can stare into the sun, eyes that only squint for the Shenikah, then we will see laughing children pulling cobras by their tails, and hawks and rabbits playing tag. 

So let it be written. So let it be done.

Edit to add: I waited until the local bookstore got more copies of this in before actually posting this, so the opening line is a bit misleading, although it was truthful at the time it was written.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

